Videos - click to view


Tuesday, June 30, 2009

Desert Classic Monday Qualifier - 30 Jun 2009

FORMER champion Peter Manley was amongst the final six qualifiers for the Las Vegas Desert Classic on Monday.

Manley, the 2003 winner, had to enter the qualifiers at the Mandalay Bay Resort after dropping outside the world's top 16 recently.

However, he bounced back from the disappointment of a defeat to Shane O'Connor on Sunday by winning through 24 hours later.

His victories on Monday included a revenge win over O'Connor, at the semi-final stage, before he whitewashed Holland's Bryan de Hoog to win his place in the first round draw.

Wes Newton, twice a Desert Classic semi-finalist, booked his spot in this year's event with a 5-1 defeat of Roland Scholten in his deciding game.

Newton also saw off Graham Warburton, Mark Carter and Paul Lim on the day, with the latter pushing the Fleetwood ace all the way to a deciding leg.

Scotland's Gary Anderson secured a Desert Classic debut, overcoming Sam Rooney 5-1 in the final and also knocking out number four seed Mark Dudbridge.

Colin Monk bounced back from a second round exit on Sunday to win his first Desert Classic appearance with a 5-3 defeat of Canadian Ken MacNeil.

He also defeated John Murray, Kevin Dowling and Denis Ovens to earn his place in the main event, just weeks after hitting a nine-darter in a Players Championship in Barnsley.

New Zealander Phillip Hazel will make his first-ever televised appearance after condemning Barrie Bates to defeat in the final game for a second successive day.

Bates lost to Australian Simon Whitlock on Sunday and went down 5-2 to Hazel a day later, as the 53-year-old joiner from Napier progressed to the big stage.

Another player to ensure a first full appearance in front of the Sky Sports cameras is Chorley's Louis Blundell, whose only other televised event was the UK Open in Bolton last month.

Blundell was a 5-3 winner against Mark Lawrence in his deciding game to secure a spot in the Desert Classic.

Fifth Round
Peter Manley 5-0 Bryan de Hoog
Phillip Hazel 5-2 Barrie Bates
Colin Monk 5-3 Ken MacNeil
Gary Anderson 5-1 Sam Rooney
Wes Newton 5-1 Roland Scholten
Louis Blundell 5-3 Mark Lawrence
Winners - Place in Las Vegas Desert Classic
Losers £1,000

Peter Manley
Phillip Hazel
Colin Monk
Gary Anderson
Wes Newton
Louis Blundell Las Vegas Desert Classic - Complete Field
PDC Top 16 Qualifiers
Phil Taylor (seed 1)
James Wade (2)
Raymond van Barneveld (3)
John Part (4)
Terry Jenkins (5)
Mervyn King (6)
Adrian Lewis (7)
Alan Tabern (8)
Dennis Priestley
Ronnie Baxter
Colin Lloyd
Wayne Mardle
Colin Osborne
Kevin Painter
Andy Hamilton
Mark Walsh

North American Order of Merit Qualifiers
Darin Young
Scott Burnett
Chris White
Bill Davis

Gary Anderson
Louis Blundell
Jamie Caven
Phillip Hazel
Jelle Klaasen
Peter Manley
Colin Monk
Wes Newton
Co Stompe
Vincent van der Voort
Simon Whitlock
Peter Wright
(full report...)

No comments:

search this site or the web...